Page Settings

  • Show menu: true
  • Use horizontal menu: true
  • Show sidebar: right
  • Skip to main content

    Board of Trustees

    June 2020 Trustee Update

    Dear Campus Community

    The Board of Trustees met virtually last week (June 10-12) for their annual summer retreat. We wish we had been able to meet in person, but appreciated spending time with each other and the college’s leadership through our computer screens.
    Eight new trustees participated in our meetings, and will begin their terms on the board on July 1. We were excited to welcome Onyx Bengston ’18; Eric Duran ’91, Doctor of Humane Letters ’15; Frieda Ekotto ’86, Doctor of Letters ’18; Jane Franke ’84, P’17; So Yong Park ’87; France Winddance Twine, Doctor of Humane Letters ’19; Elliott Williams ’21; and Alan Woo ’71, Doctor of Humane Letters ’17. More information on our new trustees can be found on CC’s website
    Trustees participated in a Title IX training session and learned about the new regulations issued by the U.S. Department of Education. As you might expect, we also spent considerable time discussing CC’s response to the COVID-19 pandemic.
    As you now know, the board also decided to appoint Mike Edmonds and Robert Moore as CC’s acting co-presidents until a new president arrives at the college. We are very grateful to Mike and Robert for agreeing to take on these important roles. 
    During our business meeting, the board heard updates on the presidential search, the construction of Ed Robson Arena, and CC’s Building on Originality Campaign. We also approved the promotion of Kristine Lang (Physics) to full professor, and amendments to the Faculty Handbook that were approved previously by the faculty.
    The board retreat also marked the end of the terms of several trustees. We recognized and thanked Antonio (Tony) Rosendo ’02; Jarod Rutledge ’17; Marc St. John ’80, P’17; Lily Weissgold ’20; and Jack Wold ’75, P’06, P’10 for their service on the board. 
    This was also Jill Tiefenthaler’s last board meeting, and we thanked her for her outstanding leadership as CC’s president. To recognize her formally, the board will award Jill an honorary degree at Commencement 2021. We look forward to celebrating her accomplishments with you then, when we are back together on CC’s beautiful campus.


    Susie Burghart '77

    Chair, Board of Trustees

    Susan S. Burghart

    Susan S. Burghart 77, Chair
    Colorado Springs, CO

    Jeff Keller

    Jeff Keller 91, P22, Vice-Chair
    Burlington, WI

    Jerome DeHerrera photo

    Jerome A. DeHerrera ’97, 
    Westminster, CO

    Board Members:

    Allon, Margaret S. ’81: Denver, CO
    Bengston, Onyx 18: Pittsburgh, PA
    Bronfman, Sam P’10, P’19: Edwards, CO
    Carroll, Heather 89: Colorado Springs, CO
    Cullen, Carolyn ’91, P’20, P’22: Sun Valley, ID
    Duran, Eric ’91, DHL’15: Denver, CO
    Edmonds, Mike: Colorado Springs, CO
    Ekotto, Frieda ’86, DLitt’18: Ann Arbor, MI
    Ellis, Josiah (Joe) ’80: Greenwood Village, CO
    Franke, Jane ’84, P’17: Jamestown, RI
    Hastings, Lisa R. ’91, P23: Boston, MA
    Haygood, Ryan P. ’97: Newark, NJ
    Horn, Jesse ’07: Baltimore, MD
    Louis, Amy Shackelford ’84: Burr Ridge, IL
    Lumumba, Tafari N. ’05: Dallas, TX
    Mangat, Kishen ’96: Boulder, CO
    Martinez, Manuel L. ’74: Denver, CO
    Moore, Robert G. P’13: Lone Tree, CO
    Moulton, Eben S. ’68: Cambridge, MA
    Park, So Yong 87: Los Altos, CA
    Pham, Natalie ’99: Ho Chi Mihn City, Vietnam
    Pohle, Liza Malott ’85: New Canaan, CT
    Ross, Robert J.: Oklahoma City, OK
    Samuel, Kyle 92: National Harbor, MD
    Slade, Michael B. ’79: Seattle, WA
    Stenovec, P. Andrew ’85: Orinda, CA
    Swan, Philip A. ’84: Pasadena, CA
    Thomson, Brian K. ’85: Denver, CO
    Troubh, John B. ’79: New York, NY
    Tutt Jr., R. Thayer P’15: Colorado Springs, CO
    Twine, France Winddance DHL19: Santa Barbara, CA
    Watel, Lauren ’07: Denver, CO
    Williams, Elliott 21: Colorado Springs, CO
    Woo, Alan 71, DHL’17: Santa Ana, CA

    Life Trustees

    Baer, Neal A. ’78: New York, NY
    Campbell, William J.
     ’67, P’02: Arvada, CO 
    Chalik, John P. ’67: Oakland, CA
    Cooper, Daniel J. ’66, P'96: Colorado Springs, CO
    Hybl, William J. 64, P’91: Colorado Springs, CO
    Lampton, David M. P’00: Washington, DC
    Manning Jr., Robert L. ’69: Denver, CO
    Norberg, Douglas E. 62, P’88, ’91, G21: Seattle, WA
    Press, Adam F. ’84: Los Angeles, CA
    Rawlings, Jane L. ’70: Pueblo, CO
    Selig, Robert (Bob) W., ’61: Woodside, CA
    Skilling, David van Diest ’55, P’79, P’82, G’19: Saratoga, WY
    Wilbur, Colburn S.: Los Altos, CA
    Williamson, Brian E. ’96: San Francisco, CA
    Wold, Jack P. '75, P'06, P'10: Denver, CO
    Woodrow, Nancy C. ’68, P11: Scottsdale, AZ
    Woolsey, Suzanne H. P’97, P’98, P’99: New York, NY

    Honorary Trustees

    Cheney, Lynne V. 63, P88, P91, G16, G20: Washington, DC
    DeGette, Diana ’79, P'16: Denver, CO
    Salazar, Kenneth L. 77: Denver, CO

    Emeritus Trustees

    Schlosser, Nancy B. ’49, G10: Santa Barbara, CA
    Ward, William R. ’64: Lone Tree, CO

    For Students


    Committee Agendas

    Strategic Project Team Agendas

    Roles & Responsibilities


    Previous Updates